IPL Purple Cap Holders :List of Highest Wicket Taking Bowlers

Indian Premier League initiated and founded by BCCI in 2008 is held annually in the month of April – May. Among various award given to the players for their performances in the tournament, IPL purple cap is given to the highest wicket taker bowler of the tournament.

So the bowler which took highest wicket in that season of Indian premium league is awarded by this cap and the bowler keep wearing it for the complete season. Here are the winners of Purple cap of all IPL seasons.

2008Sohail TanvirRajasthan Royals11226.466/14
2009R.P. SinghDeccan Chargers16236.984/22
2010Pragyan OjhaDeccan Chargers16217.293/26
2011Lasith MalingaMumbai Indians16285.955/13
2012Morné MorkelDelhi Daredevils16257.194/20
2013Dwayne BravoChennai Super Kings18327.954/42
2014Mohit SharmaChennai Super Kings16238.394/14
2015Dwayne BravoChennai Super Kings17268.143/22
2016Bhuvneshwar KumarSunrisers Hyderabad16237.504/29

IPL Purple capSohail Tanvir : 2008Sohail Tanvir

Sohail played for Rajasthan Royals in season 1 . His best performance was against Chennai Super Kings where he took 6 wickets for 14 runs in 4 overs, making him the only bowler to take 6 wickets in a match. He was awarded by IPL Purple Cap for taking highest number of wickets in 2008 season. He took 22 wickets in 11 matches.




R.P Singh: 2009

Purple Cap holder for second season of IPL was RP Singh who played for Deccan Charger. He took 23 wickets in the season and was a key player of the champion team of that season. He is still the leading wicket taker  with 52 wickets in his bag.



Pragyan Ojha: 2010Pragyan

Pragyan Ojha is a left hand spinner who played for Deccan Chargers in Indian premier League 2010. His ability to flight the ball, deceiving batsman to make them come and hit the ball, earned him wickets. He took  21 wickets and was the highest wicket taker of the season. His personal best for the season was 3 for 26 against




Lasith Malinga: 2011

Lasith Malinga plays for Mumbai Indians and is a key player for the team. He won IPL Purple cap in 2011 for being the highest wicket taker. He took 28 wickets with best bowling figures of 5/13. His round arm action and ability to bowl yorkers make him favourite in bowling area.


Morné Morkel: 2012Delhi Daredevils' Morne Morkel celebrates the dismissal of Rajasthan Royals' Brad Hodge in the IPL

In 2012, Morne Morkel took most number of wickets in the season. He was then playing for Delhi Daredevils and took 25 wickets in 16 innings, his best performance in the season being 4/20.




Dwayne Bravo: 2013 & 2015

With highest number wicket in hand in Indian  2013 & 2015, Dwayne has been awarded with Purple cap twice. He took 32 wickets in 18 games for Chennai Super Kings in 201. His best was 4/42.His average for the season 2013 was 15.33 with strike rate of 7.95. In season 8 he took 26 wickets in 17 matches with an average of 16.


Mohit Sharma: 2014mohit-sharma-1

Mohit Sharma led the wicket chart by taking 23 wicket in 16 matches for Chennai Super Kings. His simple yet consistent bowling and surprise bouncers often made batsman to commit mistake on the field which benefited Mohit Shrama.


So these are the bowlers who took highest wickets in the different season and won the Indian Premium League Purple cap.